top of page
Ivy Leaf_edited.png

Chapter Recognition

Golden Members

A Golden Member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. ® has served the sorority for 50 years.  Iota Zeta Omega has two golden members.

Dr. Mary Sconiers Chapman

Rep. Mary Madison

Ivy Leaf_edited.png

Silver Stars

Ivy Leaf_edited.png

A Silver Star of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. ® has served the sorority for 25 years.  Iota Zeta Omega has 15 Silver Stars.


Helen Bothwell

Alice Boyd

Valeska Buie 

Twyla Woods-Buford

Denise Deering 

Jacquie Easley McGhee 

Pamela Gaddy

Carol Wynn-Green

Deborah Gordon   

Kim Jackson 

Gloria Marks     

Tara Nichols

Lillie Parker     

Garoldine Webb

Deidre Williams

Ivy Leaf_edited.png

History Makers

Ivy Leaf_edited.png

Iota Zeta Omega members have often been at the forefront of change in our community. Here are few of our members who have made an indelible mark on

Des Moines. 

Community Awardees

Ivy Leaf_edited.png

Recently several Iota Zeta Omega members have been honored with community recognition. Here are a few: 

2022 Sage Over 70 Honoree

Dr. Mary Sconiers Chapman 

2022 NAACP Corporate Citizen of the Year

Jacquie Easley McGhee

2022 Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

Zeta Kappa Lambda

Outstanding Community Leadership & Service Award

Major Lillie Parker

Des Moines Business Records 40 Under 40

Lindsey Lovelace -2022

Madison Sconiers -2023

2023 Central Iowa Remarkable Women

Jacquie Easley McGhee

2023 Polk County Women Attorney  Assoc.

Willie Stevenson Glanton Award

Ashley Stewart, Esq.

Wells Fargo, African American Employee Resource & the Iowa Black Caucas

2024 Rising Star Award

Lindsey Lovelace

Ivy Leaf_edited.png

First Black Woman Elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in District 31

Rep. Mary Madison

First Black Woman Factory Manager at John Deere

Rosalind Fox

First Government Training Specialist for Polk County

Madison Sconiers

Ivy Leaf_edited.png

First Black Women Elected to the

Des Moines School Board

Jacquie Easley McGhee

First Black Woman Dean of Des Moines Area Community College

Dr. Mary Chapman

First Black Officer Promoted to Major in the Des Moines Police Department

Lillie Parker

bottom of page